Thursday, November 17, 2011

National Book Award Winners

Established in 1950, the National Book Award is an American literary prize given to writers by writers and administered by the National Book Foundation, a nonprofit organization.  Four awards are given each year, one in each of four categories - fiction, non-fiction, poetry, and literature for young people.  This year's winners are:

Jesmyn Ward for Salvage the Bones

Stephen Greenblatt for Swerve: How the World Became Modern

Nikky Finney for Head Off and Split

Thanhha Lai for Inside Out and Back Again

Congrats to all of this year's winners!  Check them out today!

No comments: